Edmonds Afghan Biscuits

Since Miss Lucy is away and has given me free range of this gorgeous blog I thought I would stray slightly from chocolate chip cookies.

Now I am a ‘there is never enough chocolate in the world’ kind of girl so I thought I would make afghan biscuits for our day trip tomorrow to The Auckland Art Gallery – more on that later.

For those that are not familiar with Afghan cookies they are a chocolate cookie with cornflakes (yip I said cornflakes!) and they are traditionally topped with chocolate icing and half a walnut – the main consumers of this batch of biscuits will range in age from 9 to 13 years old therefore  I decided to top mine with sprinkles.

Edmonds Afgan Biscuit

 

The Edmonds Cookbook is very common in New Zealand, there wouldn’t be too many households with out one. It was first published in 1908 and has sold over 3,000,000 copies. My cookbook has loose pages and food splatters and watermarks on just about every page it is much loved! I have fond memories of sitting on my Grandmas bench top while she cooked dinner snacking on these biscuits for afternoon tea and watching her cook.

Afghans

200 grams softened butter

1/2 cup of white sugar

1 1/2 cups Champion (a brand name) standard plain flour

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

2 cups of cornflakes

chocolate icing (will note my icing recipe below)

walnut halves (or sprinkles in my case)

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Sift flour and cocoa powder. Stir into creamed mixture. Fold in cornflakes. Spoon mounds of mixture on to a greased oven tray (I used baking paper) gently pressing together. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes or until set. When cold ice with chocolate icing and decorate with a walnut if wished.

Makes 30

This can also be made into a slice by pressing into a 20 x 30 cm slice tin. Bake at 180 degrees c for 25 minutes and again ice when cold.

My icing recipe.

25 grams of softened butter

1 cup of icing sugar

2 level tablespoons of dark cocoa powder

warm water

mix butter, icing sugar and cocoa with a hand mixer and add just enough warm water to get a thick consistency that can be spread on the biscuits with a knife.

Top with sprinkles and enjoy.

These school holidays The Auckland Art Gallery is playing Studio Ghibli animae films every week day at 130pm, tomorrow we are going to see ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’. The gallery also has an installation Olafur Eliasson – The cubic structural evolution project which consists of thousands of white lego bricks and visitors are encouraged to build a cityscape so everyday the installation is different. The kids loved the lego when we went on Monday, we also watched My Neighbour Totoro which is a gorgeous film. Pop along if you are in Auckland the viewings and lego installation are both free to the public.

Click through here to see what’s on at the gallery now: The Auckland Art Gallery Whats On

Well I must bid you goodnight as I have just realised it is after midnight so that trip to the gallery is in fact today. Better catch some beauty sleep before the kiddos are up and about.

Jada xx

jadafamilia.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

